Skip to main content

SESD History

The South Valley Electric Service District is a political subdivision of the State of Utah & a local improvement District. SESD is a "Not for profit" Public Power entity created by the Utah State Legislature in 1985 to provide electric service in Southern Utah County. A member of Utah Association of Special Districts (UASD), SESD is the only ELECTRIC Service District in Utah.

  • Member of South Utah Valley Power Systems (SUVPS), Intermountain Power Superintendents Association (IPSA), Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems (UAMPS), Colorado River Energy Distributors Association (CREDA), and the American Public Power Association (APPA)
  • SESD's service territory is over 120 square miles and is divided into 7 area districts (including Elk Ridge Woodland Hills cities Each district is represented by an elected  trustee; the Board of Trustees is comprised of 7 members.
  • Started with a 3 MW load and has grown into a 14 MW load.
  • SESD currently provides service to over 4,000 customers and provides power for a large percentage of south Utah County farms, agriculture, and orchards.
May contain: outer space, space, universe, astronomy, planet, globe, and earth